In honor of world vegan day and Zest's delicious vegetarian, vegan and 100% gluten-free options, we thought we would provide a quick guide to the main vegetarian diets. With all the veggie-diet variations out there, it can get a little confusing. (Think Jimmy Kimmel and the gluten-free episode). So the next time someone tells you that they’re “flexitarian” you won’t have that deer-in-headlights look.
A Zest quick-guide to vegetarian diets:
Vegan: No meat, meat bi-products (including gelatin and meat broths), and animal bi-products (including dairy and honey)
Vegetarian: No meat or seafood consumption. Will eat animal bi-products (such as dairy and eggs)
Flexitarian: Eats mainly a vegetarian diet, but still consumes meat, fish and seafood.
Latco Vegetarian: No meat and seafood consumption. Will eat dairy.
Ovo Vegetarian: No meat, meat bi-products or dairy. Will eat eggs.
Latco Ovo Vegetarian: No meat and seafood consumption. Will eat dairy and eggs. (basically the same thing as a vegetarian).
Pollotarian: No red meat or seafood. Will eat poultry, eggs, and dairy.
Pescatarian: No red meat or poultry. Will eat fish, seafood, eggs and dairy.
While Zest is a vegetarian restaurant with vegan items, all carnivores and veggie-diets are welcome!